2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag
Australian Series
13th January
20th January
Dee Why
17th March
24th & 25th March
14th & 15th April

2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag
Australian Championships
27th & 28th April
Duranbah, Tweed Heads
(Includes Trials for WA & TAS Clubs)

Sailor Jerry Rum
James Wood Wade Carmichael (Avoca Boardriders)

Boardriders Cup

The Jim Beam Boardriders Cup Australian Final is the Champion of Champions for Australia's Grass Roots surfers. Surfers at club level compete in their monthly Boardriding Club contests with each club's Open Surfing Division sponsored by Jim Beam. These monthly club events determine each club's Jim Beam Boardriders Cup Champion who qualifies thru to the Jim Beam Boardriders Cup Australian Final.

The JBBRC is a truly National competition with seventy six Boardriding Club's from NSW, QLD, WA, VIC and SA all taking part in 2012/13. Each club's Jim Beam Boardriders Cup Champion receives $500 with the JBBRC Australian Champion winning $2,000.

THE hotly contested 2013 Jim Beam Boardriders Cup played out in spectacular fashion with Avoca Beach local Wade Carmichael winning the champion of champions accolade ahead of Nick Squires (East Corrimal), James Wood (LeBa) and Shane Holmes (North Shelly).

In pumping 3-4 foot D'BAH it was Carmichael’s day. The powerful natural footer dominated proceedings in the final, positing a 7.77 early, only to back it up with a commanding 9.7.

“Yeah I’m stoked, this event is sick. It gives me some good publicity and there was a solid crowd there to watch,” Carmichael said of his win.

“I took home two grand and I got a BOSCH power drill, so I’m gonna go drill some holes I’m frothing,” he joked.

Defending-champion, James Woods was up against the ropes early, struggling to form any commanding lead while Shane Holmes couldn’t get himself into a threatening position. Squires however, nearly caused the upset of the contest, posting a shocking 9.33 with three minutes to go but it was all too late. The halfway point proved to be the defining moment for Carmichael.

“It started pulsing during the arvo and the bank went a little wider and there were a couple of really good waves that’d roll through and you could get a good three or four turns on,” he said.

“No one really got any really good ones and I kept getting a few bad waves and then just on the middle of the heat I got a really good one, a 9.77.”

Past winners of the Jim Beam Boardriders Cup are 2006 - Drew Courtney (Umina), 2007 - Steve Clements (Long Reef), 2008 - Drew Courtney (Umina), 2009 - Glen Hall (Umina), 2010 - Dion Atkinson (Seaford), 2011 - Caleb Reid (Bronte), 2012 - James Wood (LeBa), 2013 - Wade Carmichael (Avoca)

Two new Boardriding Clubs joined the growing competition in 2012/13, WindanSea (QLD) and South Coast (SA).

The seventy six Boardriding Club's sponsored by Jim Beam are:

Boomerang Beach Noosa
Merewether Mudjimba
Catherine Hill Bay North End
Norah Head Mermaid Nobby's Miami
Avoca Burleigh Heads
McMasters Palm Beach
Umina Currumbin Alley
North Avalon Kirra
Newport Snapper Rocks
Mona Vale Kingscliff
North Narrabeen Cabarita
Long Reef Byron Bay
Dee Why Lennox Ballina
Curl Curl Duranbah
Port Macquarie Coolum
Frenchman's North Shore
Freshwater Brunswick
Queenscliff Windansea
North Steyne WA
Bondi Margaret River
Bronte Yallingup
Maroubra City Beach
Sth End Maroubra Scarborough - WA
Elouera Contacio
Cronulla Trigg Point
Garie Geraldton
Sandon Point VIC
Woonona Peninsula (Mornington)
East Corrimal Phillip Island
Wollongong 13th Beach
Werri Beach Torquay
Ulludulla Otway
North Shelly
Wamberall SA
Saltwater Seaford
Southbridge Seaview Road Boardriders
Blacksmith's South Coast
Tea Tree
Jones Beach
Northside (Stockton)
Port Kembla