2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag
Australian Series
13th January
20th January
Dee Why
17th March
24th & 25th March
14th & 15th April

2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag
Australian Championships
27th & 28th April
Duranbah, Tweed Heads
(Includes Trials for WA & TAS Clubs)

Sailor Jerry Rum
Bondi Boardriders - 2013 NSW South Jim Beam Surftag Champions Bondi Boardriders - 2013 NSW South Jim Beam Surftag Champions



In only their second year of Jim Beam Surftag, Bondi Boardriders Club won the NSW South Jim Beam Surftag Title yesterday in ripable, three-foot waves at North Werri Beach.

After the second day’s competition was postponed until 10:30am for favourable tides, conditions became ideal for high-quality surfing with a consistent south swell hitting the South Coast beach. But competitors were thrown a curve ball from above when a shock hailstorm hit Gerringong just in time for the final.

In a blistering showdown that saw three Eastern Beaches clubs reach the glory round, Bondi successfully went one better than last year to claim the title with a heat score of 97.13. Neighbouring clubs Maroubra (65.27) and Bronte (62.93) went toe-to-toe for second place and Queenscliff Boardriders Club (45.53) struggled to bounce back from their sluggish start.

The Bondi team - Perth Standlick, Otis Carey, Clancy Dawson, Chris Friend and Damien Wills – muscled-up and held a commanding lead for the duration of the final, with Standlick and Carey posting 23.17 and 23.37 respectively. Bronte answered back with Caleb Reid (21.7) and Tom Whitaker (17.17) but the pair soaked up valuable time doing so.

Maroubra had a fast finish with Blake Thornton (21.10) and Mark Mathews (17.33) but it was too late in the piece after Clancy Dawson and Chris Friend successfully closed the book for a Bondi victory. Queenscliff failed to break-free from forth position, using all their luck during the semis when Dan Karren pulled some radical aerials to secure a come-from-behind win.

Perth Standlick carried his form from individual competition into the event, posting over 20-point heat totals every time he hit the water. But he downplayed his own performance and said the club was rapt to clinch the top prize.

“I was just too scared to let the club down,” he said. “It’s the most nerve-wracking event of the year. When you surf for your club there’s more pressure than any individual competition.”

“We’re all stoked that we’ve made it through to the Nationals. To win is just a massive bonus. It was really cool to see three Eastern Suburbs teams in the final and then to finish first, second and third as well.”

“We don’t have so much of a rivalry with Maroubra but definitely with Bronte, so to beat them, that was our number one goal.”

While only relatively new to the Jim Beam Surftag, Standlick said a number of additions to the Bondi club have given them newfound strength that could potentially put them on the podium at the Jim Beam Surftag Australian Championships in April.

Defending NSW Champions, Bronte, rode into the final on the back of a record-breaking performance from Tom Whitaker in the semi-final. Whitaker posted a 9.17, 9.93 on his BOSCH Powerwave and 8.43 for a 37.47 total, the highest individual score in 12 years of Jim Beam Surftag and he took out the BOSCH Powerwave award for his troubles.

Bondi, Maroubra, Bronte, Queenscliff A & B, Cronulla, Elouera, Ulladulla, North Narrabeen A & B, Werri Beach and Avalon will now make the trip north to contest the Australian Championships.

The Jim Beam Surftag Boardriders Series is the pre-eminent event for surfing clubs in Australia, as they round up their best surfers every year to compete in the relay-style format. Each surfer must catch three waves, their second of which scoring double points, known as the power wave.

2013 is going to be the biggest year of Jim Beam Surftag in its 12-year history with 32 teams competing at the Australian Championships– increased from 24 – and over $100,000 in prize money up for grabs. The winning club will receive $15,000, plus five spots on a Maldives 7 day boat trip valued at $8500. LeBa (Lennox Head and Ballina) are the defending Australian Champions but with over 100 teams vying for the top-spot this year, sparks are set to fly when the Series reaches Coolangatta.

BOSCH, Sanuk, Perfect Wave Travel, Tracks and Coastalwatch proudly support the Jim Beam Surftag Australian Series.

For results, photos and videos from the event go to