2018 Gromtag Australian Series

Beach Burrito Northern Beaches Gromtag
Gromtag Australian Series
14th October, Dee Why Beach

Perfect Wave Surf Experience QLD & Northern NSW Gromtag
Gromtag Australian Series
27th October, Duranbah Beach

Triple Bull Cronulla Gromtag
Gromtag Australian Series
10th November, North Cronulla Beach

24th November, Curl Curl Beach
Gromtag Australian Series
Gromtag Australian Championships

 Jordy Lawler (North Narrabeen). Credit - Wes Lonergan. Jordy Lawler (North Narrabeen). Credit - Wes Lonergan.



March 27-29, Duranbah Beach, Tweed Heads

North Narrabeen Legends get the Call Up

And it all comes down to this! 32 teams will land on the sands of the Gold Coast this week to contest the Jim Beam Surftag Australian Championshipsand vie for the Title as the best Boardriding Club in the country.

After the biggest National Tour in Jim Beam Surftag history – which even saw the event contested in South Australia for the first time – the National Final is sure to be even more explosive than last year. Teams from as far as Margaret River in the west, Seaford in the south, North Narrabeen, Queenscliff, and Bronte from Sydney and hometown forces, Snapper Rocks and D-Bah have all been looking forward to this Friday with Round 1 kicking off at 7.30am. While massive bragging rights are on the line, Clubs will be hungry to take the $15,000 winners cheque back to their home beach. Plus, thanks to Perfect Wave Travel, the winning team will book five spots on a 7-day boat trip to the Maldives.

North Narrabeen come into the event as defending champions after taking a fifth title last year. Recent form suggests the side will again be the club to beat with an unprecedented three teams qualifying to the Australian Championships. The club has put together two elite teams with the likes of Cooper Chapman, Davey Cathels, Chris Davidson, Nathan Hedge and Jordy Lawler all confirmed to compete. Their third team will be the North Narrabeen Legends outfit with Mark Warren, Terry Fitzgerald, Damien Hardman, Col Smith and Greg Anderson confirmed for competition in a throwback to the club’s dominance through the 70’s and 80’s.

“We’ve always had a strong club here at Narrabeen,” said two-time World Champ Damien Hardman. “Through generations, some will be stronger than others but this core group of guys who’ve been together for at least five years are still going strong and they’re bringing up younger guys too. We’re defending champions so our teams are as good as any.”

“We’ve got three teams this year who qualified and this being our 50th year anniversary of North Narrabeen Boardriders, we’ve decided to put a legend team together. Unfortunately Simon [Anderson] couldn’t make it but we’ve still got a pretty good old-diggers team.”

Although “The Iceman” is quick to admit they’ve got a big task ahead of them if the Legends want to take out the title.

“If anyone gets beaten by our team they probably shouldn’t be in the event,” joked Hardman. “Having said that, if it was 3-foot Snapper, I know Fitzy can still do a good soul arch and Mark Warren’s still ripping we could probably give a few teams a scare.”

The Bronte Blue Ducks from Sydney’s Eastern Beaches understandably have a bee in their bonnet after loosing the 2013 final in the dying seconds. Again they went down to the North Narrabeen powerhouse in this year’s regional qualifier but Tom Whitaker will sure be arriving this week with one thing on his mind: Nothing short of first position.

Merewether Surfboard Club will ride into the Australian Championships on a high after claiming victory at the Kirra Teams Challenge earlier this month. With strong performances from Jesse Adam, Ryan Callinan and Mitch Ross the side could very well snatch a win come Saturday’s Final.

After a disappointing performance in the Final last year, locals Snapper Rocks will be looking to win their third National Title. The Club has long been a standout and remain the only Queensland team to win a Jim Beam Surftag Australian Championship.

All 32 teams have made it to Duranbah Beach after qualifying through their regional titles. Teams will surf through two days of cutthroat heats with a National Champion to be crowned on Saturday. However, action will begin on Thursday with the Jim Beam Boardriders Cup crowning Australia’s No.1 Club Surfer. Fifty Club Champions will contest the event with the winner pocketing $2,000. Among the Fifty starters will be Stu Kennedy (Le-Ba), Richie Lovett (North Steyne), Connor O’Leary (Elouera), Cooper Chapman (North Narrabeen), Cahill Bell-Warren (Torquay), Mitch Parkinson (Snapper Rocks) and Nick Vasicek (DBAH). Also being held during the 3-day event will be the Tee-Ink Tee Off. This speciality event will see the Man of the Match from the six Jim Beam Surftag Qualifiers compete in a 15-minute heat with each surfer only to catch one wave. Surfers include, Ryan Callinan (Merewether), James Wood (Le-Ba), Mitch Parkinson (Snapper Rocks), Jordy Lawler (North Narrabeen), Dino Adrian (Margaret River) and Harry Mann (Torquay).

The Jim Beam Surftag Series involves teams of five surfers who compete in a relay-style format. Each surfer must catch three waves and then return to the beach to ‘tag’ their teammate. But any winning team knows the key to trumping their opposition is to solidify on the second wave that scores double points, known as the ‘BOSCH Powerwave’. Securing a big score on a Powerwave has seen teams jump from last position into first, meaning no heat is ever over until the final hooter.

Bonus points are awarded to teams who finish within the time frame and the top two highest scoring teams progress to the next round.

Jim Beam Surftag Australian Championships – Top 32 Qualifiers

North Narrabeen x 3
Queenscliff x 2
Bronte x 2
Long Reef
Curl Curl
Snapper Rocks
North End (QLD)
Burleigh Heads
Merewether x 2
Norah Head
North Shelly
Port Macquarie
Byron Bay
Margaret River x 2
South Coast (SA)

Perfect Wave Travel, BOSCH and TEE INK proudly support the Jim Beam Surftag.

Visit and for all the latest results, photos and videos.