2020 Surftag Australian Series

Northern Beaches Surftag Qualifier
25th January - Curl Curl Beach

Newcastle Surftag Qualifier
8th & 9th February - Merewether Beach

Wollongong Surftag Qualifier
22nd & 23rd February - Stanwell Park Beach

QLD & Northern NSW Qualifier
29th Feb & 1st March - Duranbah Beach

Surftag Australian Championships
4th & 5th April - Queenscliff Beach, Sydney

D'BAH Boardriders - 2016 Women's Sailor Jerry Surftag Champions. Images Credit - Bernadette McAlinden D'BAH Boardriders - 2016 Women's Sailor Jerry Surftag Champions. Images Credit - Bernadette McAlinden

Sailor Jerry Surftag Set to Kick Off at Cronulla


Men's and Women's Divisions at all Events

6th February 2017

Sailor Jerry Surftag Set to Kick Off at Cronulla

Men's and Women's Divisions at all Events

The 2017 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Series is set to kick off at North Cronulla Beach the first weekend in March, with Boardriding Clubs from Bondi to Ulladulla looking to secure a birth at the Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Championships. The Series will include Qualifying events at Cronulla, Newcastle and the Gold Coast with the Australian Championships being held on Sydney's Northern Beaches, 13 & 14 May.

For the first time the Women's Division will be held at all events with $20,000 prize money on offer including $5,000 for the Australian Champions. The expansion of the Women's Division at the three Qualifying events will increase the number of teams competing as well as encourage female members of Boardriding Clubs to represent their local Club. Likely starters at Cronulla include, Bondi Girls Boardriders, Bronte Boardriders, Cronulla Girls Boardriders, Scarborough Boardriders and Ulladulla Boardriders.

Cronulla Girls Boardriders President Jen Ward is excited the Sailor Jerry Surftag is being held at her home beach. "Competition surfing is normally an individual sport but Surftag makes it a team effort which is always fun," Ward said. "Over the past few years I've seen women's surfing and women's sport in general making huge advancements. Women's surfing still has a long way to go but the Surftag event and the $20,000 prize purse is a huge step in the right direction and I'm delighted."

The Women's Surftag Title has been contested as a one off event since 2008 with the D'BAH Women's team claiming victory in 2016 & 2015. The rivalry between D'BAH and the North Narrabeen Women's team has intensified over the past two years with North Narrabeen finishing runners up both years. Prior to D'BAH'S dominance North Narrabeen had won five Titles between 2008 and 2015.

The top three teams at each of the Women's Qualifiers will advance to the Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Championships with the top four teams receiving prize money. The winning team at each Qualifier will receive $1000 and prizes from Sailor Jerry.

The Men's Division at Cronulla will be a hotly contested affair with the top six teams qualifying to the Australian Championships. Up to fourteen teams are expected to compete including, Bondi, Bronte, Maroubra, Elouera, Cronulla, Garie, Scarborough, Sandon Point, Woonona, Jones Beach, Southbridge, Werri Beach, Culburra and Ulladulla.

Total Series prize money is $60,000 with the Men's Australian Champions receiving $10,000. Men's Division has a Total Prize Purse of $40,000.

2017 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Series

4/5 March - Cronulla (Area - Bondi to Ulladulla)

25/26 March - Newcastle (Area - North Steyne to Port Macquarie)

1/2 April - Gold Coast (Area - Coffs Harbour to Noosa)

13/14 May - Australian Championships - Northern Beaches, Sydney

(Includes Trials for VIC, TAS, SA & WA Clubs)

Follow Sailor Jerry Surftag at,
Sailor Jerry on Facebook
Sailor Jerry on Instagram

For more info on Sailor Jerry, please go to:

For further information please contact,
Steve Harrison
Global Surftag
Phone - 0403 180 787
Email -