2020 Surftag Australian Series

Northern Beaches Surftag Qualifier
25th January - Curl Curl Beach

Newcastle Surftag Qualifier
8th & 9th February - Merewether Beach

Wollongong Surftag Qualifier
22nd & 23rd February - Stanwell Park Beach

QLD & Northern NSW Qualifier
29th Feb & 1st March - Duranbah Beach

Surftag Australian Championships
4th & 5th April - Queenscliff Beach, Sydney

Cahill Bell-Warren - Torquay Boardriders. Credit - Hayden O'Neill Cahill Bell-Warren - Torquay Boardriders. Credit - Hayden O'Neill

Torquay Win VIC Sailor Jerry Surftag


Peninsula Surfriders Win the Women's


18th March 2018


Torquay Boardriders have taken out the VIC & SA Sailor Jerry Surftag Qualifier in epic conditions at Rye Back Beach. Torquay (94.34) finished six point's clear of Peninsula Surfriders (88.34) with 13th Beach Boardriders (48.47) finishing third and Peninsula "B" fourth.

Torquay team captain Cahill Bell-Warren was the standout in the one-hour final posting 21.7 that included a 7.10 Powerwave. The Torquay team of Todd Rosewell (21.04), Cody Robinson (19.90), Harry Mann (18.06) and John Robertson (9.64) reveled in the large offshore conditions.

"Really proud to defend our Surftag Title we won four years ago in South Australia", Bell-Warren said. "It was an epic effort from our squad all day with everyone playing their roles to a tee. We've been training for these team events really hard this year so it's great to take home another Victorian Title. Can't wait for next years event, TBC will be coming back with multiple teams for sure".

Peninsula Surfriders pushed Torquay all the way to the last wave with club president and fifth surfer Lachy McDonald scoring 18.17 in the final stages of the decider.

"We are stoked to be going to the Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Championships next month", McDonald said. "Winning the Women's division and coming second in the Men's is a great effort from our club so we will have a big squad heading to the Gold Coast. We were one good wave short of the win today in the Men's and look forward to testing ourselves against the country's best".

In the Women's Division Peninsula Surfriders (29.69) finished ahead of Torquay (10.33) with former Winter Olympian Hannah Trigger posting the highest score in the final - 10.50. The Peninsula team of Trigger, Vee Bieber, Claudia Daymond, Nina Sinclair and Charlee West charged the big and chunky conditions.

"Stoked to get the win today and can't wait to go to the Goldy", West said. "So special to be apart of this team representing the club and to win the first ever Women's Surftag in Victoria is really cool".

Torquay's Cahill Bell-Warren and Todd Rosewell won the Sailor Jerry Surftag Powerwave Award with both surfers scoring 8.00 point rides in Heat 1.

With the top three Men's teams qualifying to the Australian Championships Torquay, Peninsula and 13th Beach Boardriders will be heading north along with Peninsula and Torquay's Women's teams.

Results - 2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag VIC & SA - Men

1stTorquay94.34 Q
2ndPeninsula "A"88.35 Q
3rd13th Beach48.47 Q
4thPeninsula "B"

Best Powerwave - Cahill Bell-Warren & Todd Rosewell - Torquay - 8.00

Results - 2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag VIC & SA - Women

1stPeninsula29.69 Q
2ndTorquay10.33 Q

2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Series

13 January - Newcastle (Area - Umina to Port Macquarie)

20 January - Northern Beaches (Area - Northern Beaches, Sydney)

17 March - VIC & SA (Area - Victoria & South Australia)

24 & 25 March - Cronulla (Area - Bondi to Ulladulla)

14 & 15 April - QLD & Northern NSW (Area - Coffs Harbour to Noosa)

27 & 28 April - Australian Championships - Duranbah Beach, Tweed Heads

(Includes Trials for TAS & WA Clubs)

Follow Sailor Jerry Surftag at,

Instagram - @sailorjerrysurftag

For more info on Sailor Jerry, please go to:

Steve Harrison - Global Surftag

Phone: 0403 180 787