2020 Surftag Australian Series

Northern Beaches Surftag Qualifier
25th January - Curl Curl Beach

Newcastle Surftag Qualifier
8th & 9th February - Merewether Beach

Wollongong Surftag Qualifier
22nd & 23rd February - Stanwell Park Beach

QLD & Northern NSW Qualifier
29th Feb & 1st March - Duranbah Beach

Surftag Australian Championships
4th & 5th April - Queenscliff Beach, Sydney

D'Bah Boardriders x 4 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Champions. Credit - Bernadette McAlinden D'Bah Boardriders x 4 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Champions. Credit - Bernadette McAlinden

D'Bah Girls Create History Winning Fourth Surftag Australian Title


Snapper Rocks Win Men's Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Championships


29th April 2018


D'Bah Boardriders Women's team have won their fourth straight Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Title and in doing so have become the most successful team in Surftag history. D'Bah (67.16) finished ahead of North End (45.20), North Shelly (42.39) and Currumbin Alley (40.59) in large and powerful conditions at Duranbah Beach.

Amiya Doyle (18.87), Audrey Styman-Lane (13.33), Freya Prumm (7.73), Grace Styman-Lane (12.57) and Brodie Doyle (10.66) led the one hour final from start to finish courtesy of Amiya Doyle locking in a 7.44 Powerwave (double points) in the early stages of the final.

Doyle was D'Bah's best and thanked her support crew after the win, "We are so happy to win our fourth Surftag Australian Title and we couldn't do it without the support of our team manager Poppy (Ray Helton) and our families", Doyle said. "All the other teams surfed great and pushed us all the way and we are so thankful to be able to compete as a Women's team in the Surftag Series, this event is the best. Every year gets tougher to win and we can't wait for next year, as we know their will be more Women's teams coming for the Title.

Sayaka Muramatsu (North End) was the highest scorer in the Women's final with 26.9 that included a 9.27 on her Powerwave. The stylish natural footer opened up with an 8.37 and showed she can score big in all size waves.

In the Men's Division Snapper Rocks Surfriders cruised to victory winning the title they last won in 2006. Snapper Rocks (96.46) finished ahead of Elouera (78.01), Merewether (67.32) and Torquay (60.14) with team captain Jay Phillips putting the result beyond doubt as the fifth surfer scoring 22.73 that included a 6.93 and 7.9 Powerwave.

Shaun Gossmann (11.67), Quinn Bruce (17.66), Mitch Parkinson (16.40), Sheldon Simkus (24.00) and Phillips didn't drop a heat the whole event with big scores coming off the back of superior team tactics and wave selection.

Phillips has been competing for Snapper Rocks in the Surftag Series since it began in 2001 and showed he has lost nothing over the years averaging 5.78 for all waves ridden throughout the 2018 series, the second best average of all 220 competitors. "To win here at D'Bah with the younger guys in the team is really special", Phillips said. "Having the best Boardriding Clubs from around Australia come together and compete for the Title is amazing and to finish on top is something our club is really proud of. Our next generation of surfers have really stepped up and to win this Australian Title is something we will never forget".

Merewether's Jackson Baker won the Rhondda Harrison Surfer of the Series Award averaging 6.15 for all his waves ridden. Baker was the only surfer to score a perfect 10-point ride at the Australian Championships with the explosive natural footer surfing with plenty of power and commitment.

Results - 2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Championships - Men

1stSnapper Rocks96.46
6thNorth Avalon
9thWerri Beach
10thNorth End
15thNorth Shelly
18thMerewether Black
21st13th Beach
22ndMornington Peninsula

Best Powerwave - Tom Whitaker (Bronte) - 9.17

Results - 2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Championships - Women

2ndNorth End45.20
3rdNorth Shelly42.39
4thCurrumbin Alley40.59
7thMornington Peninsula
8thChristian Surfers Cronulla
9thCronulla Girls

Best Powerwave - Sayaka Muramatsu (North End) - 9.27

2018 Sailor Jerry Surftag Australian Series

13 January - Newcastle (Area - Umina to Port Macquarie)

20 January - Northern Beaches (Area - Northern Beaches, Sydney)

17 March - VIC & SA (Area - Victoria & South Australia)

24 & 25 March - Cronulla (Area - Bondi to Ulladulla)

14 & 15 April - QLD & Northern NSW (Area - Coffs Harbour to Noosa)

27 & 28 April - Australian Championships - Duranbah Beach, Tweed Heads

(Includes Trials for TAS & WA Clubs)

Follow Sailor Jerry Surftag at,

Instagram - @sailorjerrysurftag

For more info on Sailor Jerry, please go to:

Steve Harrison - Global Surftag

Phone: 0403 180 787