2020 Surftag Australian Series

Northern Beaches Surftag Qualifier
25th January - Curl Curl Beach

Newcastle Surftag Qualifier
8th & 9th February - Merewether Beach

Wollongong Surftag Qualifier
22nd & 23rd February - Stanwell Park Beach

QLD & Northern NSW Qualifier
29th Feb & 1st March - Duranbah Beach

Surftag Australian Championships
4th & 5th April - Queenscliff Beach, Sydney

Images - Jamie Thomson, North Narrabeen Boardriders. Credit - Bernadette McAlinden Images - Jamie Thomson, North Narrabeen Boardriders. Credit - Bernadette McAlinden

North Narrabeen Boardriders Win Inaugural Gromtag Australian Title




North Narrabeen Boardriders Win Inaugural Gromtag Australian Title

North Narrabeen Boardriders have won the Inaugural Gromtag Australian Title in classic 2 metre conditions at Sydney's Curl Curl Beach. The junior North Narrabeen (74.57) team had to fight till the very last wave to secure victory over North Avalon (70.20) who held the lead for most of the fifty-minute final with Sandon Point (61.77) finishing third and Curl Curl (31.07) fourth.

North Narrabeen's second surfer Jamie Thomson (26.83) scored the highest two wave total of the event during the final posting a 7.83 and a 9.5 Powerwave with the stylish natural footer attacking the lip on the solid closeout sections.

Ethan Raper (6.33) and Jack Bannister (9.23) surfed first and third for North Narrabeen and after three surfers North Avalon held the lead thanks to some powerful surfing from Jasper Giddy (13.23), Arch Whiteman (14.40) and Van Whiteman (16.47). North Narrabeen's fourth surfer Benny Wilson (18.83)turned the tide for NN landing a huge backhand floater on his Powerwave receiving 7.87 from the judges which was backed up by Jack Lawson (10.33) with a 4.60 Powerwave.

"We are so proud to represent North Narrabeen and win the Title", Thomson said. "Our coach Matt Cattle told us to surf a little more up the beach and it paid off as the bigger sets were holding up. To win the final with all the support on the beach is a great feeling and I'm stoked to be a part of the team and win the first ever Gromtag Australian Title for North Narrabeen".

Sandon Point started strongly with Eddie Hamaty, Ben Duncan and Jed Ashton all surfing with plenty of commitment. "You definitely have a lot more pressure in tag team compared to surfing individual heats and wanting to make the most of the two waves knowing you don't get another shot if you fall, it really gets the adrenaline flowing", said Hamaty. "Absolutely over the moon to come away with a third, it's so major for us not only because of the massive talent we had to outperform, but having to surf with a totally different team to the last few years".

Curl Curl had overcome some tough competition in the earlier rounds to progress to the final but ran out of steam when it counted most due to a slow start which they were unable to comeback from against the country's top three teams. Ben Walsh, Carter Harris and Ed Aubrey excelled earlier in the day making the most of the overhead conditions on their home beach.

Burleigh Heads Boardriders looked the team to beat in Round 1 posting the highest total of the day - 77.60 that include the highest individual wave score of the day to Sein Fujimoto – 9.67. Burleigh lead Semi Final No.1 after two surfers but then fell back to third position due to some unsuccessful big maneuvers

2018 Gromtag Australian Championships Results

1stNorth Narrabeen63.13
2ndNorth Avalon50.17
3rdSandon Point41.97
4thCurl Curl25.13
5thBurleigh Heads
7thLong Reef
9thNorth Shelly
10thSnapper Rocks
15thMona Vale
16thDee Why

For the Gromtag Australian Championships heat draw, highlight video and photo's please visit

The 2018 Gromtag Australian Series is proudly supported by Beach Burrito Company, The Perfect Wave Travel, Triple Bull Surf Cronulla, Joistik Surfboards, Bose, Wicks Surf andSwellnet.

For further information please contact,

Steve Harrison - Global Surftag

Phone: 0403 180 787